Smuggled Sounds

live concerts bootleg ROIO

Whatever the music .. it is all about live music

Monday, June 09, 2008

the National - Unreleased, B Sides And Rarities

Pete-Wylie-Sinful---White-La-390538Setting up their tunes on a creative territory amid American electric rock and indie rock's mellowest tunes, the National ultimately present melodious and inspiring compositions also enlightened by a set of influences, including country-rock and even British pop/rock. Originally coming from Ohio, the band eventually formed in New York in the late '90s, with a five-piece lineup, embodied by brothers Scott (guitar) and Bryan Devendorf (drums), Aaron (bass) and Bryce Dessner (guitar), and by vocalist Matt Berninger. Following a series of live presentations, the group eventually managed to enter the studio to record their first record. The National, their debut and self-titled album, hit the record stores in 2001, achieving considerable acclaim. The Ohio natural crew then continued to play on several live shows, eventually securing a growing fan base. In 2003 the group released Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers, a deft blending of alternative country and chamber pop, followed by the EP Cherry Tree in 2004. The following year the band signed with Beggars Banquet and released Alligator. The National returned in 2007 with Boxer, an ambitious effort that featured orchestration by the Clogs' Padma Newsome and Sufjan Stevens on piano.

01 wasp nest
02 all dolled-up in straps
03 cherry tree
04 about today
05 a reasonable man (i don't mind)
06 warm singing whores
07 driver, surprise me
08 keep it upstairs
09 you've done it again virginia
10 mansion on the hill
11 blank slate
12 santa clara
13 rest of years
The National - Unreleased, B Sides And Rarities14 slow show
15 tall saint
16 minor star of rome
17 the thrilling of claire
18 pretty in pink
19 no professionals
20 halo chagrin
21 clampdown
22 lit up (remix)
23 secret meeting (remix)
24 around the bend
25 brilliant man
26 high beams
27 dynamite walls



Bookmark and Share

For unlimited download and no waiting time: Buy Premium account


Blogger McCrank said...

Many thanks for this National Treasure! HAR-HAR -- Why is there two files for each song in this download? There is two of each song -- one with caps and one without. Did you do a little cleaning?

4:03 AM  
Anonymous hajar said...

thank you thank you for this. I can't stop listening to Boxer.

and hello from fellow Malaysian.

2:36 PM  
Blogger Vincent said...

Hello ! I have a question for you about "Mansion on the Hill" song : I know the live version which appears on the single "Apartment Story" and on "The Virginia EP" BUT I didn't find out when The National have performed this acoustic (?) version of the song.. Can you enlighten me?

3:42 PM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home