Smuggled Sounds

live concerts bootleg ROIO

Whatever the music .. it is all about live music

Sunday, June 10, 2007

Tom Waits - Surfin' Minneapolis

Tomwaits1975_001It's nice to have this almost perfect sounding tape sourced from a pre-FM broadcast studio recording.  Tom performs solo for the entire performance, many of the songs not even with any instruments but rather his signature beat poetry style that he was using at this point in his career.  The song selection is quite similar to the Nighthawks album, but the arrangements are much simpler.  I really enjoy listening to this CD
because there are very few bootlegs available from around this time, but I honestly enjoy the full band arrangements and the performances on the official Nighthawks album more.  Tom is, of course, very funny and chooses a fantastic selection of songs in this recording, and this boot should in the collection of any serious Waits fan.  The passive admirer of Tom's music (if there can possibly be such a thing), however, could pass on this one without much regret.

1. Introduction
2. Emotional Weather Report
3. Eggs and Sausage Intro
4. Eggs and Sausage
5. Better Off Without a Wife
6. Semi Suite
7. Spare Parts / Diamonds on my Windsheild
8. The Ghosts of Saturday Night / The Heart of Saturday Night
9. New Coat of Paint
10. Warm Beer And Cold Women
11. Virginia Avenue
12. San Diego Serenade
13. Putnam County
Tom Waits - Mineapolis 197514. Ol' 55


Bookmark and Share

For unlimited download and no waiting time: Buy Premium account


Links to this post:

<< Home