Smuggled Sounds

live concerts bootleg ROIO

Whatever the music .. it is all about live music

Friday, November 03, 2006

Veruca Salt - Chicago Volcano Girls

Named after a character from the novel Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Veruca Salt was formed in Chicago by Louise Post (guitar/vocals), Nina Gordon (guitar/vocals), Steve Lack (bass) and Jim Shapiro (drums). The band's first release was "Seether"/"All Hail Me" on Minty Fresh Records, an independent label, in 1994. The single was a success and Veruca Salt accompanied Hole on a tour, before releasing their debut full-length LP, American Thighs, which eventually reached gold status.

After signing to Geffen Records, the band quickly gained in popularity as "Seether" became an MTV hit. A stopgap EP produced by Steve Albini, Blow It Out Your Ass It's Veruca Salt, was released in 1996. Veruca Salt's popularity skyrocketed after their second full album, Eight Arms to Hold You, was released in 1997. VER_S0001Produced by Bob Rock, the album generated the hit lead single "Volcano Girls", which gained exposure as the opening theme to teen comedy Jawbreaker. Shapiro left the band soon after the release of Eight Arms and was replaced by Stacy Jones (of Letters to Cleo and now American Hi-Fi).

Songwriting duties were shared between Gordon and Post, though the two seldom collaborated. Rather, each would typically submit a complete song to the group and sing the lead vocal on that song, while the other would submit backing vocals. Critics often cited the harmonies between Gordon and Post as one of the band's major strengths.

Veruca Salt live at the Moore Theatre, Seattle, Washington, 1994.11.14 – flac format

part1 part2 part3 part4 Download the 4 parts then unRAR all together

01. Pale Green (incorrectly titled "I Am 14" on the cover)
02. All Hail MeVS-LCF-front-front
03. Stoneface (incorrectly titled "Once Twice" on the cover)
04. Forsythia
05. Straight
06. Sleeper Car (incorrectly titled "My Car" on the cover)
07. Seether
08. Spiderman '79
09. Victrola
10. 25 (with part of Liz Phair's "Supernova")


BBC Maida Vale Studios 1994.08.22

11. Straight
12. She's a Brain

outtakes / alternate versionsVS-LCF-back

13. All Hail Me
14. Stacey Please


Bookmark and Share

For unlimited download and no waiting time: Buy Premium account


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home